India States

As of my last update in September 2021, India is divided into 28 states and 8 Union territories. Each state has its own elected government, while Union territories are governed by the central government of India. Here is the list of the 28 states of India:

India States

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam
  4. Bihar
  5. Chhattisgarh
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Jharkhand
  11. Karnataka
  12. Kerala
  13. Madhya Pradesh
  14. Maharashtra
  15. Manipur
  16. Meghalaya
  17. Mizoram
  18. Nagaland
  19. Odisha
  20. Punjab
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Sikkim
  23. Tamil Nadu
  24. Telangana
  25. Tripura
  26. Uttar Pradesh
  27. Uttarakhand
  28. West Bengal

In addition to these states, there are 8 Union territories, which have varying degrees of autonomy and are directly governed by the central government:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  4. Lakshadweep
  5. Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi)
  6. Puducherry
  7. Ladakh
  8. Jammu and Kashmir

Please note that the administrative divisions of India may change over time due to government decisions or reorganization. It’s always a good idea to verify the latest information if there have been any updates beyond my knowledge cutoff date in September 2021.

Leave a Comment