Andhra Pradesh(AP) History

Andhra Pradesh (AP) is a state located in the southeastern part of India. It is one of the 29 states of India and was formed on November 1, 1956, by merging the Telugu-speaking areas of the former princely states of Andhra and Rayalaseema. On June 2, 2014, Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated, and the region of Telangana was carved out to form a separate state.

The capital city of Andhra Pradesh is Amaravati, although Hyderabad served as the joint capital for both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana until the official transfer of administrative functions to Amaravati was completed.

Andhra Pradesh has a diverse geography that includes a long coastline along the Bay of Bengal, the Eastern Ghats mountain range, and fertile plains, making it suitable for various agricultural activities. The state is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical monuments, and traditional art forms.

As of my last knowledge update in September 2021, Andhra Pradesh had 13 districts. However, please note that administrative divisions may change over time, so it’s always a good idea to verify the latest information from official sources.

Leave a Comment